Skip to Content

FINANCE - VEHICLE REGISTRATION AND LICENSING DIVISION

There are no announcements at this time

MOTOR VEHICLES GENERAL INFORMATION

Office Locations & Hours of Operation:

HILO

Motor Vehicle Registration
101 Pauahi Street, Suite 5
Hilo, HI 96720
Ph: (808) 961-8351
Fax: (808) 961-8330

Hours:
Monday to Friday
8:00AM - 4:00PM

KONA

Motor Vehicle Registration
West Hawaii Civic Center
74-5044 Ane Keohokalole Hwy, Bldg C
Kailua-Kona, HI 96740
Ph: (808) 323-4818
Fax: (808) 327-4410

Hours:
Monday to Friday
8:00AM - 4:00PM

PAHOA

Motor Vehicle Registration
15-2615 Keaau-Pahoa Road
Pahoa, HI 96778
Ph: (808) 965-2721
Fax: (808) 965-2724

Hours:
Monday to Friday
8:00AM - 3:30PM

 

 

 

MAILING ADDRESS

Vehicle Registration & Licensing Division
101 Pauahi Street, Suite 5
Hilo, HI 96720
(808) 961-8351

All offices will be closed on Saturdays, Sundays, Holidays and furlough days. See 2011-2013 Furlough Day Closures

On-line Registration Renewal 
(see site for fees and requirements)

Motor Vehicle Registration and Licensing Forms


General Information

Office Locations and Hours
Registration Renewal
Non-Hawaii Registered Vehicle
Vehicles Registered in Another County
Out-Of-State Permit
Replacing Plates or Emblem
Replacement Special License Plates
Special Instructions For Non-Resident Military
Transfer of Lienholder
Ownership Transfer (Seller)
Ownership Transfer (Buyer)
Special License Plates
Dog Registration
Bicycle and Moped Registration
Trailer Registration
Junking A Vehicle
Storing A Vehicle
Notice of Transfer
Motor Vehicle Safety Inspections

Customer Service Survey Form  

Return to Top

 


Registration Renewal 

The registration of all vehicles in Hawaii must be renewed every year in the county where the vehicle is registered and being driven.

Renewal application forms are mailed to the registered owner approximately 45 days before the vehicle’s registration expiration date, to the last address on file.

To renew your registration please mail the renewal application form, along with your check for the amount indicated. Also, if it is noted on your renewal form, include the yellow copy of your current vehicle inspection certificate.

If your renewal application indicates that you have outstanding traffic violations, you are required to submit a written clearance for that vehicle before your application can be processed. To obtain the clearance, contact the traffic violation bureau at the Judiciary Building at 777 Kilauea Avenue - Old Kona Hospital, or at the Waimea Civic Center in Kamuela. Mailed renewals must be postmarked no later than 10 working days before the end of the expiration date.

If you did not receive your renewal application by mail, you may renew by submitting your current certificate of registration, current vehicle inspection certificate, and if required, a traffic violations bureau clearance to your nearest motor vehicle registration office. Registration personnel will determine total fees due.

If there is an address error on your renewal application or on your current certificate of registration, line out the incorrect address and print your correct address before submitting these documents for renewal.

Effective August 1, 2009 failure to renew your registration on time will result in a penalty of $16 for passenger vehicles ($8 County Tax Penalty Fee plus $8 State Tax Penalty Fee) and $40 for commercial vehicles ($20 County Tax Penalty Fee plus $20 State Tax Penalty Fee) per year. For more information see the article in the Hawaii County News county-alters-fee-for-delinquent-weight-tax-payment

Return to Top

 


Non-Hawaii Registered Vehicle 

The following lists the requirements to switch from out of state license plates to Hawaii license plates and obtain Hawaii County registration:

Complete and sign the appropriate Application for Registration form.
Submit the last issued out of state certificate of registration.
Submit the last issued out of state certificate of title if you are listed as the lienholder.
Submit a bill of lading or shipping receipt, which shows the date the vehicle, arrived in Hawaii County.
Submit a current Hawaii certificate of safety inspection.
If vehicle’s year model is previous, current or subsequent year (ex. 2010, 2011, or 2012), submit a State of HI form G-27 form with any required attachments. This form may be obtained from the State of Hawaii Department of Taxation or from their web site at www6.hawaii.gov/tax/a1_1alphalist.htm . Questions regarding the G-27 form should be directed to the Hawaii District Tax Office at 808-974-6321.
If we do not have the weight of the vehicle as established by the manufacturer, you may be required to have the vehicle weighed at a state certified scale.

Registration personnel will determine the required fees.

Return to Top

 


Vehicles Registered in Another County 

Your vehicle must be registered in the county in which it is being driven. The following lists the requirements to change your vehicle registration from the counties of Maui, Kauai, or Honolulu to the County of Hawaii:

Complete an Application for Registration form. The registered owners as indicated on the certificate of registration must sign the application.
Submit the other county’s certificate of registration.
Submit the other county’s certificate of title if you are listed as the lienholder.

Registration personnel, if required, will determine the fee.

Return to Top

 


Out-Of-State Permit 

You may operate your recently arrived vehicle in Hawaii County if it is currently registered in another state under the following conditions:

The vehicle is registered in your name.
A Hawaii safety check inspection from an authorized safety check station has been obtained.  (Your vehicle must have 2 plates in order to obtain a Safety Check as they will not pass your vehicle for a safety inspection with only 1 plate on the vehicle.)
An out-of-state vehicle permit from the Department of Motor Vehicle Registration within 30 days of its arrival in County of Hawaii is issued. To obtain the permit, submit the following:

A completed Out-of-State Vehicle Permit Application form. The current out-of-state certificate of registration.
A bill of lading or shipping receipt, which shows the date the vehicle, arrived in Hawaii County.
The Hawaii Certificate of Safety Check Inspection.
$5.00 payment for the permit.

The out-of-state plates will be valid until their expiration date or for 12 months, whichever occurs first.
You may also obtain Hawaii license plates under the above conditions instead of an out of state permit. If your vehicle is going to remain in the state this might be an easier alternative for you.

Return to Top

 


Replacing Plates or Emblem 

If your license plate or emblem is lost, mutilated or stolen, you must obtain a replacement.

To obtain a replacement, you must:
Complete and sign an Application for Replacement Plate or Emblem form.
Submit your current certificate of registration.
If your license plates have been mutilated or defaced, you must surrender both your front and back plates.
If only one plate has been lost or stolen, you must bring in your one remaining plate.

Hawaii Certificate of Safety Check Inspection must be valid to complete the above transactions. Original Hawaii Certificate of Safety Check Inspection may be required.

The fee to replace both the license plates and emblem is $5.50.
The fee to replace only an emblem is 50 cents.

Return to Top

 


Replacement Special License Plates 

If your special license plate is lost, mutilated, or stolen, you must obtain a replacement.

To obtain a replacement:
Complete and sign an application for replacement special number plate form available only at any Motor Vehicle Registration office.
Submit your current motor vehicle registration.
If your special license plates have been mutilated or defaced, you must surrender both your front and back plates.
If only one plate has been lost or stolen, you must bring in your one remaining plate.
The fee to order replacement special plates is $20.
The special plate will take approximately 60 to 90 days to manufacture. During this period you will need to purchase regular license plates and emblem for a fee of $5.50.
Complete and sign an Application for Replacement Plate or Emblem form. The Motor Vehicle Registration Personnel will provide you additional information when the application for replacement is received.

Return to Top

 


Special Instructions For Non-Resident Military 

Members of the United States Armed Forces on active duty stationed at a military installation in Hawaii and who are residents of another state are exempt from payment of Hawaii’s motor vehicle registration fees. Individuals who are members of a reserve component on temporary active duty do not qualify for this exemption. If you qualify and want to be exempt from the tax, you must submit a completed Non-Resident Certificate Form MVR/DF10. A completed form is required each time you are applying for the following:

Renewal of a Hawaii registration.
Hawaii registration of a vehicle previously registered in another state or county.
Hawaii registration of a newly purchased vehicle, and
For transfer of ownership of a previously Hawaii registered vehicle.

Should you leave active duty, change your residency to Hawaii or are stationed out of the state of Hawaii but your vehicle remains in Hawaii, you are no longer exempt from Hawaii’s motor vehicle weight tax. To avoid a penalty for delinquent registration, you must re-register your vehicle within 30 days of the effective date of your change in status.

Registration personnel will determine the amount of the registration fees that must be paid.

Return to Top

 


Transfer of Lienholder  

If you have paid the loan on your vehicle and the lienholder has sent you the tan certificate of ownership endorsed on line 2, or the Blue Certificate of Title endorsed in Section B, you must accomplish the following to record the vehicle in your name as both registered owner and lienholder.

Ensure that the lienholder has signed their name and stamped the name of the institution on the appropriate lines.

Complete the new lienholder portion on the reverse side of the certificate of ownership or certificate of title. If the vehicle is registered in joint ownership, both parties must sign.

Submit the properly endorsed certificate of ownership or certificate of title and the current certificate of registration. Pay the $5.00 transfer fee plus the cost of registration renewal if the registration has expired or will expire within 45 days.

Registration personnel will determine renewal fees.

Return to Top

 


Ownership Transfer (Seller) 

The seller must accomplish the following:

If you possess the Oahu, Maui, or Kauai certificate of title, the registered owners must complete section A on the front of the title. The lienholder must complete Section B on the reverse side of the title. Both parties must sign if the vehicle is jointly registered or jointly owned

If you possess the older tan certificate of ownership, the registered owners must date and sign.

  1. The lienholder must also date and sign.
  2. Both parties must sign if the vehicle is jointly registered or jointly owned.

Complete the odometer reading in the spaces provided on the certificate of title.

Give the new owner the endorsed certificate of title, the current certificate of registration and certificate of safety inspection. Complete a notice of transfer form and mail it within 10 days to the county motor vehicle registration office where the vehicle was last registered.

If the vehicle is registered in the name of a business, a letter of authorization must be on file at the motor vehicle registration office naming you as an authorized person to sell vehicles on behalf of the business. If the business is a partnership, all partners must sign the letter of authorization; and if the business is a corporation, a corporate officer must sign the letter of authorization.

Return to Top

 


Ownership Transfer (Buyer)

The buyer must accomplish the following:

The new registered owners must print and sign their names on the appropriate lines on the reverse side of the certificate of title. If the vehicle is to be jointly registered, both parties must sign. If the vehicle is being registered in the name of a business, you must have a letter of authorization on file authorizing you to buy vehicles on behalf of the business.

The new lienholder must print and sign their names on the appropriate lines on the reverse side of the certificate of title. Both parties must sign if the vehicle is jointly owned.

To complete the transfer, the properly endorsed certificate of title, the current certificate of registration, and current safety inspection certificate must be submitted within 30 days to the motor vehicle registration office. A transfer fee of $5.00 will be assessed. If the registration has expired or will expire within 45 days the cost of registration renewal will be calculated and collected by the registration personnel.

Please note that a late transfer fee of $50.00 will be assessed if the documents are submitted after 30 days. In addition, you will be assessed delinquent taxes for prior years that the vehicle has not been registered.

Return to Top

 


Special License Plates 

The following are the requirements to obtain special license plates:
Submit $25.00 along with a completed application for special plates.
If more than one application for the same special plate is received, the application first processed will have priority.

You will be notified by mail when the plates are ready for pickup. At that time, you will be asked to:
Submit the vehicle’s certificate of registration. Pay an emblem replacement fee of 50 cents. If the registration has expired or will expire within 45 days, you must also pay for the renewal fees.
Submit a current certificate of safety inspection.

Please adhere to the following guidelines when ordering special license plates:
Limited to six letters, numerals, or combination thereof. A space between a letter and number is counted as one of the six letter-numeral combinations.
Only one hyphen is allowed in addition to the six letter-number combinations. The hyphen may be used to replace a letter or number. No other punctuation marks are allowed.
All requested numbers, letters or combinations that are misleading, publicly objectionable, or letter-number combination of regular issued plates, will be denied.
The cost is $25.00 upon initial application and is not prorated. After the special plates are issued, a $25.00 annual charge will be added to your registration fees upon each renewal of the vehicle registration . The plates are valid until the design of the license plates is changed.

Applications can be obtained at any Auto Registration Office

Return to Top

 


Dog Registration 

You may register your dog at the Hawai‘i Island Humane Society at the following locations:

Kona Shelter (808) 329-1175
Hours: 9:00 - 5:30 Mon. - Sat.

Kea‘au Shelter (808) 966-5458
Hours: 9:00 - 5:00 Mon. - Fri.; 8:00 - 4:00 Sat.

Waimea Shelter (808) 885-4558
Hours: 7:30 - 3:30 Mon. - Sat.

All shelters are closed on Sunday and County Holidays.

All dogs that are 3 months of age or older must be licensed. Dogs are issued a biennial license.

The owner of a dog must be 18 years of age or older.

To register a dog you will be required to provide the owner’s name, address, microchip number, home and business phone numbers. You also need to provide the dog’s name, breed, age, sex, and a veterinary certificate if the dog is spayed or neutered. Also provide the dog’s microchip number if available.

The license fee for a dog that is spayed or neutered is $2.10. The license fee of a dog that does not have a veterinary certificate certifying that the dog is spayed or neutered is $6.10. The fees are not refundable and are not prorated.The fee to replace lost or illegible current tags is $0.10.

Please contact any Humane Society for the following:
Replacement of certificates of registration.
Replacement of lost or stolen dog tags.
To report a lost or stray dog, contact the closest Humane Society

Return to Top

 


Bicycle and Moped Registration 

All bicycles that have 2 tandem wheels that are 20 inches or more in diameter and all mopeds are required to be registered.

Bicycles with wheels less than 20 inches in diameter are not required to be registered but owners may register them to facilitate the return of a recovered stolen bicycle.

The permanent registration fee is $15.00. Replacement tag fee is $2.00. You must be at least 18 years of age to register a bicycle or moped.

A Moped must meet all of the following criteria:

  1. Have two or three wheels in contact with the ground.
  2. Maximum power output of 2 HP or less (1.492 Watts).
  3. Maximum piston or rotor displacement of 50CC or less (3.05 cubic inches).
  4. Travel, unassisted, on a level surface at a maximum speed no greater than 30 MPH (48.39 KPH).
  5. A direct or automatic power drive system which requires no clutch or gear shift operation by the moped driver after the drive system is engaged with the power unit.

A safety inspection is required to operate a moped.

Bicycles, which are currently registered in another state, are exempt from registration until the expiration of that state’s tag. If the out of state registration certificate is lost or expired, the applicant must provide proof of ownership in the form of a Bill of Sale, notarized Statement of Fact, invoice, or receipt which adequately describes the bicycle or moped.

If you sell a bicycle or moped you should file a Bicycle or Moped Notice of Transfer to protect your liability.

To record a transfer of ownership for a bicycle or moped, you must submit the last issued certificate of registration released by the owner of record. If the registration is not current, you will be required to renew the bicycle or moped registration.

The transfer fee is $5.00 if the transfer is recorded within 30 calendar days of release date. Otherwise, a fee of $15.00 will be assessed if the transfer is not recorded within 30 calendar days.

The fee for a duplicate certificate of registration is $5.00.

Click here to access the form: Application for Bike and Moped Registration.

Click here to access the form: Bicycle/Moped Notice of Transfer.

Return to Top

 


REGISTERING A NEW TRAILER

1) An M.S.O. or M.C.O. from the manufacturer is needed to validate the weight of the trailer. You can obtain this from where you purchased the trailer.   If this is a homemade trailer that has not been registered in the state of Hawaii, you will need to take the trailer and get it weighed at an official weigh station. The weight tax is calculated using an official weight that is identified for your trailer by the Vehicle Identification Number.  Note: a printout of the trailer manufacturer’s warrantee registration from their website is not insufficient.

2) You need to have M.S.O./M.C.O. or a weight slip first, then take the trailer to an inspection station and get a temporary safety inspection.

3) Then take all documents to the Motor Vehicle Registration office where you will fill out a trailer registration form (only available at the Motor Vehicle Registration office).  At that point the clerk will provide you with a valid Hawaii County Registration and a license plate.

4) Once you get the get the registration and license plate from the Motor Vehicle Registration office you then go back to the safety inspector, show the registration and they will complete the finalized Safety Check and affix the Safety Check sticker to your trailer.

Return to Top

 


Junking A Vehicle 

You may junk a vehicle, which you no longer want regardless of whether the registration is current or expired. Please note that once a vehicle is junked, it cannot be registered again.

To junk your vehicle, you must:
Complete the Junked Certificate.
If you have the tan certificate of ownership:
The registered owners must date and sign line 1. The lienholder must date and sign line 2.
If you have the blue certificate of title:
The registered owners must complete Section A on the front of the title.
The lienholder must complete Section B of the reverse side of the title.
Complete the odometer reading in the spaces provided.

Submit the properly completed Junked Certificate, properly endorsed certificate of ownership or title, the last issued certificate of registration and the vehicle license plates to the county motor vehicle registration office nearest you.

Return to Top

 


Storing A Vehicle 

If you will not be using your vehicle for a period of time and the vehicle is currently registered, you may place it in authorized official storage. By doing so, you will be exempted from payment of future registration fees and taxes. Neglecting to officially store a vehicle means you will continue to be responsible for payment of the vehicle’s taxes and fees even during the period when it is not in use.

To store a vehicle, you must:
Complete the Statement of Fact for a Stored Vehicle.
Surrender the vehicle’s current license plates (both front and back) and emblem.
If one or both plates have been lost or stolen, turn in remaining plate, if applicable, and complete the Application for Replacement License Plates and/or Decal.
Submit your current certificate of registration. The registration will be stamped to indicate the license plates have been surrendered and the vehicle is in authorized official storage.

Return to Top

 


Notice of Transfer 

Seller of a vehicle has 10 calendar days to submit a Notice of Transfer to the Auto Registration Office.
Seller will not be released from liability until this notice is recorded. The notice of transfer must be complete with the new owners name, address and the date of sale, and the vehicle description. 

Return to Top

 


Motor Vehicle Safety Inspections 

Vehicle safety inspections may be obtained at authorized service stations and vehicle repair shops.

With the exception of certain commercial vehicles, most privately owned vehicles are issued a safety inspection certificate that is valid for one year. The following documents must be presented to the safety check inspector:

  1. Vehicle Registration
  2. Insurance identification card.

When safety inspections are completed by inspection stations, safety inspection forms are sent to Honolulu for updating and inputting into the Statewide data base.  Motor Vehicle Registration staff can see the safety check expiration date on the vehicle file once it is entered.  Updates may take up to 4 months to reflect current safety inspection expiration.

Return to Top