Skip to Content

Committee Agenda and Actions

Council business is divided among sub-units of the Council, referred to as Committees. Committees expedite the business of the Council. It is the duty of the Committees to thoroughly consider and make policy recommendations concerning the legislative matters referred to them. Their recommendations are forwarded to the Council for placement on a future Council agenda.

Committee meetings are held twice a month either at the Council Chambers at the County Building in Hilo, 25 Aupuni Street, Room 1401, or in the Council Chambers at the West Hawai‘i Civic Center in Kona at 74-5044 Ane Keohokālole Highway, Building A. The public can also participate in meetings at the Pāhoa Council District Office at 15-2879 Pāhoa Village Road (Old Pāhoa Police Substation),  and at the Waimea Council Office, at the Holumua Center, 64-1067 Māmalahoa Highway, Suite 5.

We invite you to attend and participate in Committee discussions. For a complete list of Council Committees, access to COMMITTEE AGENDA and meeting actions for specific meeting dates, please see below. For instructions on the use of the Committee Agenda database and for retrieving agenda documents click on Instructions for using Agendas & Actions Taken .

Oral Public Testimony: Oral public testimony is heard at the beginning of each Committee meeting for items on the agenda. Oral public testimony is limited to three (3) minutes per agenda item.

* Video Public Testimony: Those submitting video testimony may email a complete web address (url) to before 12:00 noon on the business day prior to the meeting. The email shall indicate the appropriate Committee or Council meeting, the meeting date, agenda item (communication, bill, resolution, or report number), and number of testifiers on the video submittal. Each video submittal shall be limited to a single agenda item. Video submittals may contain up to three (3) individual testifiers and shall each be up to three (3) minutes in length. Video testimony will not be played during the meeting; however, it will be distributed to Council Members prior to the meeting. If submitted after the deadline, Council Members will receive the video testimony after the meeting. The Office of the County Clerk reserves the right to refuse testimony containing inappropriate content or that is not in compliance with Council
Rule 13 (Public Statements and Testimony) .

    * Allowable video formats are to be internet-based, downloadable, and accessible to this office and the general public; e.g. YouTube being the most commonly known but any, of similar functionality and format we can access and review, is acceptable.

Written Public Testimony: The deadline for submission of written public testimony is before 12:00 noon on the business day prior to the meeting. The Office of the County Clerk will accept receipt of your written public testimony by mail to the Office of the County Clerk at 25 Aupuni Street, Hilo, HI 96720, by facsimile to (808) 961-8912 or by e-mail to  . Please submit separate written public testimony for each agenda item.

Written Public Testimony Submitted Past Deadline: If you miss the deadline for written public testimony, the Office of the County Clerk will accept your written public testimony at the Committee meeting. When submitting written public testimony at a Committee meeting, please see a Committee Services staff person stationed at the front entrance of the Council room and provide them with your written public testimony. The Office of the County Clerk advises that you bring fourteen (14) copies of the written public testimony to expedite distribution to the Council members during the meeting.


Agriculture, Water and Energy Sustainability Committee
Chair Margaret Wille, Vice Chair Valerie Poindexter

Environmental Management Committee
Chair Dennis “Fresh” Onishi, Vice Chair Margaret Wille

Finance Committee
Chair Karen Eoff, Vice Chair Valerie Poindexter

Governmental Relations and Economic Development Committee
Chair Dennis “Fresh” Onishi, Vice Chair Margaret Wille

Human Services and Social Services Committee
Chair Maile David, Vice Chair Karen Eoff

Planning Committee
Chair Greggor Ilagan, Vice Chair Maile David

Public Safety and Mass Transit Committee
Chair Daniel K. Paleka, Jr., Vice Chair Greggor Ilagan

Public Works and Parks and Recreation Committee
Chair Valerie Poindexter, Vice Chair Dennis “Fresh” Onishi

Questions and Assistance: Should any assistance be required to locate information in these pages, please feel free to contact us at Council Web Feedback .

Should you find something not working with this web page, please send an email to:   Council Web Feedback.