WarningLatest information on Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) from the County of Hawaiʻi Civil Defense Agency:

Hawaiʻi County CERT

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Community Emergency Response Team (CERT) Program provides residents and businesses alike with the basics in how to properly prepare and respond to an emergency at home, at work, or in the community.

Hawai‘i Island has 11 of the 13 climate zones of the world and Hawai‘i County leads all 3,140 U.S. counties in multi hazards potential. Residents and businesses should be prepared, CERT addresses those needs.

Contact Us: Bill Hanson 808-935-0031

Training through the CERT Program provides a learning platform in:

  • basic disaster response
  • fire safety
  • light rescue
  • team and responder coordination
  • basic medical care

Using the skills and knowledge learned in the classroom and reinforcing those modules with practical application through role playing and exercises, the CERT Program provides fundamental skills and understanding to make meaningful decisions in responding to incidents in your community, your workplace, or at home.

CERT encourages community participation and provides support to emergency response organizations when the need arises.

CERT training is a 27-hour certification course. Class attendance requires personal commitment as the course takes 4 consecutive Saturdays to complete.

Thank you for your kind interest in the Hawai‘i County CERT Program.

PDF Documents; Pending

  • Program Guidelines
  • Training Schedule
  • Training Registration
  • Member Application
  • Annual Recertification


District CERT Teams

  • Hamakua
    • Hamakua
    • Laupahoehoe
    • Paauilo
  • Kau
    • Hawaiian Ocean View Estates
  • North Kohala
    • North Kohala
  • North Kona
    • Palisades
  • Puna
    • Fern Forest
    • Hawaiian Paradise Park
    • Kalani
    • Leilani Estates
    • Volcano Village
  • South Hilo
    • Hilo Bayfront
    • Hawaiian Federal First CU
    • Keaukaha
  • South Kohala
    • Puako
    • Waikoloa Village
    • Waimea
  • South Kona
    • South Kona
    • University of the Nations
    • Milolii
  • Island Wide
    • Helco