All bicycles that have 2 tandem wheels that are 20 inches or more in diameter are required to be registered.
Bicycles with wheels less than 20 inches in diameter are not required to be registered but owners may register them to facilitate the return of a recovered stolen bicycle.
The permanent registration fee is $15.00. Replacement tag fee is $2.00. You must be at least 18 years of age to register a bicycle.
Bicycles, which are currently registered in another state, are exempt from registration until the expiration of that state’s tag. If the out of state registration certificate is lost or expired, the applicant must provide proof of ownership in the form of a Bill of Sale, notarized Statement of Fact, invoice, or receipt which adequately describes the bicycle.
If you sell a bicycle you should file a Bicycle Notice of Transfer to protect your liability.
To record a transfer of ownership for a bicycle, you must submit the last issued certificate of registration released by the owner of record. If the registration is not current, you will be required to renew the bicycle registration.
The transfer fee is $5.00 if the transfer is recorded within 30 calendar days of release date. Otherwise, a fee of $15.00 will be assessed if the transfer is not recorded within 30 calendar days.
The fee for a duplicate certificate of registration is $5.00.
Act 200 of the Hawaii Sessioin Law 2016 requires significant changes to Moped registration throughout the State of Hawaii effective January 1, 2017.
All Moped Owners are required to:
- Convert their permanent registration to an annual registration. The total fees are $32.50 which cover the following:
- Annual registration fee of $27.00
- License plate fee of $5.00 and
- Emblem fee of $0.50.
- Have their mopeds successfully pass an annual Hawaii safety check inspection. Safety Inspection stations may charge an inspection fee plus tax for each moped inspection.
- Securely fasten the license plate on the rear of the moped, displayed entirely unobscured, and be kept reasonably clean.
- Affix the emblem on the upper right portion of the moped license plate. The emblem bears the moped license plate number and the month and year of registration expiration.
A Moped must meet all of the following criteria:
- Have two or three wheels in contact with the ground.
- Maximum power output of 2 HP or less (1.492 Watts).
- Maximum piston or rotor displacement of 50CC or less (3.05 cubic inches).
- Travel, unassisted, on a level surface at a maximum speed no greater than 30 MPH (48.39 KPH).
- A direct or automatic power drive system which requires no clutch or gear shift operation by the moped driver after the drive system is engaged with the power unit.