The registration of all vehicles in Hawaii must be renewed every year in the county where the vehicle is registered and being driven.
Renewal application forms are mailed to the registered owner approximately 45 days before the vehicle’s registration expiration date, to the last address on file.
To renew your registration please mail the renewal application form, along with your check for the amount indicated. Also, if it is noted on your renewal form, include a photocopy of your current vehicle inspection certificate. If you are submitting a Department of Transportation (DOT) safety inspection you will need to submit an original white or pink copy.
If your renewal application indicates that you have outstanding traffic violations, you are required to submit an outstanding violation clearance letter for that vehicle before your application can be processed. To obtain the outstanding violation clearance letter, contact the traffic violation bureau at the following locations: Judiciary Building at 777 Kilauea Avenue, Hilo; Keakealani Building, 79-1020 Haukapila Street, Kealakekua; or at the Waimea Civic Center, 67-5187 Kamamalu Street, Kamuela. Mailed renewals must be postmarked no later than 10 working days before the end of the expiration date.
If you did not receive your renewal application by mail, you may renew by submitting a photocopy of your current certificate of registration, current vehicle inspection certificate, and if required, a traffic violations bureau clearance to your nearest motor vehicle registration office. Registration personnel will determine total fees due.
If there is an address error on your renewal application or on your current certificate of registration, line out the incorrect address and print your correct address before submitting these documents for renewal.
Effective August 1, 2009 failure to renew your registration on time will result in a penalty of $16 for passenger vehicles ($8 County Tax Penalty Fee plus $8 State Tax Penalty Fee) and $40 for commercial vehicles ($20 County Tax Penalty Fee plus $20 State Tax Penalty Fee) per year. For more information see the article in the Hawaii County News.